Wednesday, February 25, 2015

~Blog Tour~ Curse Me Not by Elizabeth Fisher

 photo Curse-Me-Not-Banner.png




 photo Curse-Me-Not.jpg

Title:   Curse Me Not
Author:   Elizabeth Fisher
Published:  December 1st, 2014
Publisher:  Champagne Book Group
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Content Warning:  Adult Sexual Content
Recommended Age:  17+

Synopsis:  Southern unsophisticate Elzetta Swan has gained the ability to see auras and the more lucrative ability to clean revenge curses from those auras. Embracing the gift faster than grass through a goose, Elzetta is about to finish her first year as a legally licensed bodywasher with a trendy new lifestyle and a countrified inner child that’s skipping all the way to the bank. But when a routine cleansing suddenly turns ugly, she begins to wonder if a powerful invoker has come to town—one who’s hooked on the rush of setting particularly nasty curses.

As Elzetta attempts to track down the culprit, she faces two fateful confrontations. Each will threaten her trendy new life and the hallelujah hankering she’s formed for the unlikeliest of urban white knights, but together those confrontations could do much worse. They could create in Elzetta a vengeful rage all her own.


Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads


Excerpt:

Frustration became a bad taste in my mouth, as did disappointment. I’d sent Cal and his police buddies on a stupid, stupid goose chase and for what?

I thought of Book’s hostile and near-anorexic face and poor Miss Patrice looking lost in her nightgown and robe. I had cleansed a major curse when it should have been a minor one. I had seen a glimpse of something deadly in Book’s aura. While I’d never dealt with a saturated invoker before, I knew from my training Book could seriously hurt someone with his curses. He’d definitely hurt himself.

Closing my eyes, I took a deep breath. I couldn’t allow the police to dismiss this, but how could I convince them to continue the search?

“Elzetta, is there something you can do as a bodywasher?” Cal asked. “That is, since you work with auras, maybe you can pick up something from this room you can use to track him.”

With sad resignation I opened my eyes to look up at the two men.

“Gentlemen, I’m not a psychic. I’m not clairvoyant or precognitive, and I’m definitely not an auravestigist which is exactly what you’re asking for. I don’t even think people can do ESP stuff, although I guess that must sound strange coming from me.”

I found myself having to turn away from their scrutiny before I could continue.

“But I do see auras if the person is in front of me. I know what an aura looks like when it’s healthy and I know what it looks like when a curse has been set on it. I know what an aura looks like at birth and at puberty. I even know what an aura looks like when a person is dying,” I said remembering that last day with Mom a little over a year ago. 

With as much resolution as I could muster, I looked from Cal to Detective Griffin and back to Cal again. My eyes were starting to tear up and I forced myself not to blink.

“And I know, from what little I saw of his aura, Claude Book—heaven help him—is a very, very dangerous young man. Oh, I do so wish I could be of more help. I know this must seem like such a wasted effort.” 

I stared at Cal willing him to understand. His poker face was back and the detective beside him no longer acted amused. I couldn’t tell if they truly grasped my fears or if they just thought I was wacko. If Griffin’s gentle, almost pitying smile was any indication, I’d put my money on wacko.


Finally, Cal turned toward the detective. “Dwayne, you want to pack up what we’re taking? I’ll walk Miz Swan to her car.”




 photo Elizabeth-Fisher.jpg
About the Author:

Elizabeth Fisher lives in east Tennessee and has deep Appalachian roots that involve all the usual elements—moonshine stills, horse thieving ancestors and rumors of illicit banjo pickin’. Fortunately, due to her father’s less felonious North Carolina heritage, Fisher makes an honest living as an author, freelance writer, editor and graphic designer. In her spare time, she reads, hikes and attempts to oil paint. She believes she’s making great strides in creatively incorporating the errant hairs of her cats—Buck and Bozo—into her still lifes. Her loving husband, Tim, is not so sure.







Giveaway Details:


 photo Curse Me Not Giveaway.png

There is a tour wide giveaway and there will be 3 winners. Prizes include the following:

  • $20 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
  • 2 x Khamsa Jewelry sets (US) 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 photo JGBSLogo.png

Monday, February 23, 2015

~Release Day Blitz~ Gideon's Promise by Morgana Phoenix




Title: Gideon’s Promise
Author: Morgana Phoenix 
Genre: NA Paranormal
Expected Release Date: Feb. 23, 2015

Hosted by: Lady Amber's Tours

Blurb:His love will become her curse.

For centuries, Gideon has kept his secret, knowing that it could mean the life of the woman whose very heartbeat was his reason for living. But when Veil Creatures are slaughtered in their homes by those sworn to protect them, it may be up to him to save those he loves from a fate worse than death. What he doesn’t expect is the betrayal and a choice that could leave his family devastated.

Valkyrie Devereaux believes only in the power of justice, loyalty and obeying the laws of her people. Love was something to be feared and she had been taught long ago that anything that could make you weak, needed to be eliminated. But when she is assigned to join the Casters of the north in hunting down the creatures killing the innocent, even she can’t help the twang of longing for something that goes against everything she was raised to believe was wrong.

Like fire and gasoline, passions collide. Heat erupts as they fight against their desires and their very nature. But a fire like theirs can never be smothered. It can never be stopped. It can only burn to unimaginable heights, but what happens when it careens out of control and destroys everything around them? And who is waiting for that exact moment to destroy the brothers?

She will become his death.




Airicka Phoenix lives in a world where unicorns, fairies and mermaids run amok through her home on a daily basis. When she’s not chasing after pixies and rounding up imps, also known as her four children, she can be found conjuring up evil villains, bad-ass heroines and swoon-worthy heroes to play with.

Airicka is singlehandedly responsible for her greatly anticipated collections, 
The Touch SagaThe Lost Girl DuologyThe Regeneration SeriesGames of Fire & Betraying Innocence. She also writes mature paranormal & contemporary romance under the dark guise of Morgana Phoenix. To date, she is responsible for The Sons of Judgment SagaIn The Dark SeriesForever His Baby & Bye-Bye Baby.

For more about Airicka and the realm she rules with an iron fist—and tons of chocolate—visit her at:

Buy Links: (Octavian’s Undoing, Book One)
Amazon US *   Amazon CA  Amazon UK *  Amazon DE *  Amazon FR *  Amazon AU * Amazon IN *  iBooks * B&N *  Smashwords *  Scribd *  Inktera * Goodreads  

Gideon's Promise (Book 2):
Amazon US *  Amazon CA * Amazon UK * Amazon DE * Amazon FR * Amazon AU * Amazon IN * iBooks * B&N * Smashwords * Scribd * Inktera * Goodreads




Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Five Star Review: Dismantling Evan by Venessa Kimball


Title: Dismantling Evan
Author: Venessa Kimball  
Genre: YA/Teen/Contemporary/Fiction/RomanceHosted by: Lady Amber's Tours

Blurb:
Life is unstable... 
…What will be the trigger to dismantle it?
When high school senior Evangeline "Evan" Phillips moves half way across the country with her parents to a quaint town in Texas, it should be a chance to start over.
It should be.
Typical of Evan, she doesn’t share her parents’ optimism. Always the loner, she is prepared to hide behind work at the school newspaper until graduation. That is the seemingly bulletproof plan until she meets her new neighbors, Gavin and Brody Ferguson.
The more Evan gets to know her neighbors, their band of friends, and frenemies, the more unsettling her new high school and community gets in Braxton Springs, Texas.
As Evan unwittingly digs deeper into the lives of those around her, her own skeletons begin to surface leaving her vulnerable and scrambling to keep her own sanity and reputation. Will Evan be able to get control over her spiraling secrets while discovering friendship and love for the first time?
Or will the issues and pressures of life as a band of not-so-average teens in a very typical high school become too much, resulting in the tragic dismantlement of an entire community and Evan herself?
Dismantling Evan is a fresh and edgy work of literary fiction that snapshots how life as a teen in modern society can be unstable and the social issues and pressures revolving around them can tip the fleeting stability of society over the edge.


This is the first book I have read by Venessa Kimball and it was just phenomenal. By the title of the book I thought Evan was supposed to be a dude, but Evangeline is so not. I really liked the writing style Venessa brought to us through this story, I thought it was very unique. If I was to pic a favorite character it would have to be Gavin maybe Im biased but my favorite all time poet is Shakespeare so reading about him reciting Hamlet kinda put a soft spot for him. Reading Dismantling Evan kind of opened my eyes as a mother of a teenage daughter, made me step back and think. I love books that have meanings to them and Dismantling Evan had several of them. I think this is one book a lot of teenagers and possibly their parents should read. It just might be that eye opener they all need to remember what its truly like to be a teenager and what really goes on in the world today. I truly enjoyed reading this book and cant wait to see what Venessa comes up with next. 
Having always been passionate about the written word, Venessa Kimball embarked on writing what would become her debut novel, Piercing the Fold: Book 1; a young adult/ adult crossover, paranormal, science fiction, dystopian series. July 2, 2012, Venessa Kimball independently published the first book in the Piercing the Fold series. Book 2, Surfacing the Rim, released March 14, 2013.
In August of 2013, Venessa joined the publishing house, Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly. The Piercing the Fold series has been re-published with CHBB beginning with Piercing the Fold: Book 1 on September 3, 2013. Surfacing the Rim: Book 2 re-published on September 24, 2013 and Ascending the Veil: Book 3 released November 2013. The fourth book in the series, Transcending the Legacy: Book 4 released May 13, 2014. Kimball's compelling teen contemporary fiction novel, Dismantling Evan, released January 13, 2015.
As for the future, Venessa is already filling her Work-In-Progress folder. When Venessa is not writing, she is keeping active with her husband and three children; chauffeuring said children to extracurricular activities, catching a movie with her hubby, and staying up way too late reading.

You can find Venessa Kimball socially at the following:
www.VenessaKimball.net
http://www.facebook.com/venessakimballauthor
http://www.twitter.com/venessakimball


Buy Links:

Dismantling Evan Buy Link: US: http://smarturl.it/DismantlingEvan

(Prologue)I peer out the small, shattered multi-faceted glass window. The fracturedsun shines through, striking the origami swan he left for me. It isn't
enough sunlight to warm my chilled bones. The space around me is
simple; wooden bench, wooden table top, two cabinets, a light switch.
The countertop is wiped clean of all things except one singular item;
evidence of Gavin's life, Brody's, my parents, my friends....my life. His
loose-paper, neatly typed journal entries and photo paper lives are
captured and stacked in a grey folder I hold tightly against my chest.
The wind blows outside the workshed, slipping through the porous
cracks and crevices of the wooden slats. I want to hush it, make
everything around me still, so I can think, but it doesn't matter if the
sound exists really because there is no one to disturb; other than me.
This shed, even though it is mostly new, has witnessed so much. At least
it was saved from seeing what happened to us outside its walls weeks
ago.
I relax my grip on the folder, place it on the countertop and sit on a stool
in front of it. My fingers play across the hand-written quote - “Not all
who wander are lost.”1 Tolkien's words.
I smile thinking of how fitting it was that Gavin had chosen those words
in particular. Everything it held... his family, flawed and breaking apart,
his friends, his favorite quotes, his torturers, and the illness that tortured
him even more... this journal held it all and the quote suits it. The journal
is a testament to his battle - fighting to understand everyone around him,
everything around him, and most of all fighting to understand himself.
It so happens I was fighting at the same time; he fought differently, but I
couldn't prevent getting wrapped up in the breakdown of it all; the
dismantlement.
The sound of the gun, the yelling and screaming, the sirens, the deputy's
walkie talkie static prominent in my ears even now. The flashing lights
and all the cries...they haunt me still; an echo below the surface of true
solid sound. An echo of life as I knew it a few short weeks ago.

~Release Day Blitz~ Torn by A.M. Wallace



Title: Torn
Author: A.M. Wallace
Genre: New Adult
Release Date: Feb. 18, 2015
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s Tours


Blurb:


Marcus has his life pretty much figured out at twenty five years old. He’s got his career on track, a nice house just outside of the city, and his lifelong best friend, Hannah, by his side at every turn. The only problem is that he has been fighting with himself to tell Hannah how he really feels. How she’s all he’s been able to think about since he was old enough to have those feelings. What he doesn’t know is that Hannah is facing the same inner battle with herself about him. She fantasizes about a life with Marcus.

Will Marcus or Hannah be able to tell each other how they feel about one another? Will they be able to make a life together or does fate have other plans?






A.M. Wallace was born and raised in southern Ohio. She is currently a stay at home mom to her wonderful son. She and her husband still reside in southern Ohio after a few years of living in east Tennessee (Go Vols!) While her husband is a die-hard Volunteer, A.M will always be a Buckeye. (O-H-I-O!) Thankfully the two teams almost never play one another.

Her love for reading started at a very young age. The Boxcar Children was where it all started, and she never quit. AR Reading in school only pushed her that much harder to read faster and more advanced books. Her competitiveness came out when there were prizes and “winning” involved. Now, she reads anything and everything in her free time. (When she has free time.)

After being a stay at home mom for seven months, needing a change that would allow her to continue staying home with her son, she finally decided to pursue her dreams and write her first novel. While watching reruns of The Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Handy Manny, and Doc McStuffins in her living room with her seven month old rolling around, the idea behind The Divided Series was born.

Author Links:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authoramwallace

Buy Links:


CA - http://www.amazon.ca/Torn-Divided-1-M-Wallace-ebook/dp/B00TP3ML00/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1424214306&sr=8-1&keywords=torn+a.m+wallace




I smiled up at him as he reached me, a real smile. He smiled back and didn’t say a word before grabbing my shoulders and pulling me into a hug. I could almost cry at how familiar it was. I hugged him back and smiled into his shoulder. I was happy right now. Because for the short time his arms were around me, I could forget about everyone else in the room. Marcus was my best friend again and I was all he needed.




Tuesday, February 17, 2015

~Cover Re-Reveal~ Gideon's Promise by Morgana Phoenix


Title: Gideon’s Promise
Author: Morgana Phoenix 
Genre: NA Paranormal
Expected Release Date: Feb. 23, 2015

Hosted by: Lady Amber's Tours

Blurb:
His love will become her curse.

For centuries, Gideon has kept his secret, knowing that it could mean the life of the woman whose very heartbeat was his reason for living. But when Veil Creatures are slaughtered in their homes by those sworn to protect them, it may be up to him to save those he loves from a fate worse than death. What he doesn’t expect is the betrayal and a choice that could leave his family devastated.

Valkyrie Devereaux believes only in the power of justice, loyalty and obeying the laws of her people. Love was something to be feared and she had been taught long ago that anything that could make you weak, needed to be eliminated. But when she is assigned to join the Casters of the north in hunting down the creatures killing the innocent, even she can’t help the twang of longing for something that goes against everything she was raised to believe was wrong.

Like fire and gasoline, passions collide. Heat erupts as they fight against their desires and their very nature. But a fire like theirs can never be smothered. It can never be stopped. It can only burn to unimaginable heights, but what happens when it careens out of control and destroys everything around them? And who is waiting for that exact moment to destroy the brothers?

She will become his death.




Airicka Phoenix lives in a world where unicorns, fairies and mermaids run amok through her home on a daily basis. When she’s not chasing after pixies and rounding up imps, also known as her four children, she can be found conjuring up evil villains, bad-ass heroines and swoon-worthy heroes to play with.

Airicka is singlehandedly responsible for her greatly anticipated collections, 
The Touch SagaThe Lost Girl DuologyThe Regeneration SeriesGames of Fire & Betraying Innocence. She also writes mature paranormal & contemporary romance under the dark guise of Morgana Phoenix. To date, she is responsible for The Sons of Judgment SagaIn The Dark SeriesForever His Baby & Bye-Bye Baby.

For more about Airicka and the realm she rules with an iron fist—and tons of chocolate—visit her at:

Buy Links: (Octavian’s Undoing, Book One)







~Cover Reveal~ Second Sight by LL Hunter


Title: Second Sight
Series: The Adelaide Paige Saga Episode Two
Author: L.L. Hunter
Genre: NA Romantic Suspense/ Crime/ Thriller
Cover Designer: Rebecca Berto of Berto Designs
Release Date: March 17th 2015 Formats: eBook and Paperback

Synopsis:

While working on what seems like just another case, Forensic Pathologist Adelaide Paige discovers something so shocking she can no longer concentrate. Something is wrong with her visions and her new assistant thinks the world should know about Addy.

When her boyfriend pulls away from her, Addy fears the mounting pressure will break her if she is to lose Killian.

As if things couldn’t get any worse, Addy is asked to take a case in New York, taking her away from everyone who loves and supports her. The opportunity is too big to turn down, but without Killian to hold her together, Addy fears she’ll be forced to return to the asylum.

Is there a new ability plaguing Addy—or is she really going mad this time?



The much anticipated sequel to the bestselling First Glance.

Pre-order your copy of Second Sight now!


Haven’t caught up? The first book in the series, First Glance is on sale for a limited time! (Sale will be live at time of cover reveal, 15th February)

Buy First Glance here:


Find L.L. Hunter






Instagram: @llhunter


Google +: google.com/+LLHunter





Saturday, February 14, 2015

~Blog Tour~ A Scarlet Fury by Bridget Blackwood



Title: A Scarlet Fury
Author: Bridget BlackwoodGenre: Paranormal Romance
Hosted by: Lady Amber's Tours

Blurb:
It has been almost a year since mankind became aware of the world in shadows. It's been an adjustment, but life goes on and most have learned to adapt. There are some on both side that are not ready to let go of their plans. Madalaina Bonvillian believed nothing could harm her; she's the daughter of the former alpha and the sister of the current alpha, who would dare? After surviving a brutal attack, Madalaina must try to move forward, but where do you go when you feel like you've lost yourself? Cleary Neil has kept his feeling for Madalaina to himself. He's been her friend, and now that's what she needs more than anything. The only problem is he can't shut off the part of himself that wants to protect his mate from the pain and confusion he sees in her. Together they will go on an emotional journey to find out if love can heal all wounds. Time is of the essence, because enemies are gathering.

I'm a hopeless romantic and a sucker for love stories with a happy ending. I grew up in East Texas where I married my high school sweetheart. We've called Southern Illinois home for over a decade now.
The characters in my head are loud and bossy. I began writing down their stories in self-defense. A social butterfly by nature, I love to talk. When I'm not writing, I enjoys video games, not cooking, and laughing as much as possible. I'm a horror movie junkie, makeup addict, like crazy hair colors, tattoos, and glitter. At home, I'm a wife and mother of three children. I'm claimed by a pug, a boxer, and four cats bent on world domination. 

Author Links

Buy Links
Amazon - US UK CA





Excerpt from book #1
I sat on the screened in back porch, and watched the wind send ripples across the lake. It was after midnight. The only light shining in the darkness was from the moon. A loon serenaded me from the water and occasionally I’d hear wolves calling to each other. All in all, it was peaceful. The trees around the back of Athan’s cabin were thicker, growing closer together. I smelled the fresh pine scent more out here than I did when I was out in the front yard.
The weather was turning cold. Soon it would be sweater weather. I’d have to go into town to buy one or remain inside. I wasn’t ready to deal with crowds or people yet.
Staying inside won’t be too terrible. Sure, keep tellin’ yourself that.
 The door to the house opened and Athan padded over silently on bare feet to take a seat in the chair across the patio table from me.
“What’s up, M? Why aren’t you in bed asleep?” he asked.
I drew my knees up to my chest and wrapped my arms around my legs. “Nightmares. I don’t sleep much anymore.”
“Want to talk about it?”
Raising one eyebrow, I asked him dryly, “You wanna talk about why you never sleep either?”
Athan looked down at his feet and glared.
Yeah, I didn’t think so.
We had been quiet for several minutes before Athan broke the silence, “Tell me about Livia.”
One side of my mouth tipped up into a half-smile. “Livia is the most awesome kid I’ve ever met. I hated to learn at her age but she wants to know everything about everything. She shares Dad’s a voracious appetite for books. The two of them can sit in his library and read for hours. She’s really close to Mom which was surprising since Mom hasn’t been fond of people in a long time. Mom knows all Livia’s secrets and is her number one confidant. Remember Mom’s rose garden?”
He asked dryly, “The one none of us were allowed to step foot in?”
I laughed, remembering all the times we tried to sneak in and she caught us.
“Yep. Mom lets everyone sit in the rose garden now and enjoy the flowers. She’s teaching Livia how to care for them and it appears the kid inherited Mom’s green thumb.”
Athan grunted his response. I wondered if I was making him regret his decision to leave his daughter behind.
 “We celebrated her 8th birthday on August 17th, two weeks before…before Rachel and me….” My heart was shuddering.
Athan cut through my near flashback. “Hey! Focus, M. We’re talking about Livia, remember? Let the other stuff go. It can’t touch you here.”
I wish that were true.
“You said Livia just turned eight. How’s that possible? She was five when I left a year ago.”
“Well, if you’d stuck around you’d know we learned Royal Reds tinkered with their mojo a long time ago to accelerate their children’s development. Seems kids are an inconvenience to them, but heirs are necessary. Things were a little wonky at first because Livia is part Lycan and that slowed it down somehow. But after she’d turned six, it shot into high gear. Livia ages an entire year every ninety days. Rachel’s determined she won’t be cheated out of childhood so on the seventeenth of February, May, August, and November there’s a birthday dinner. At first it was a bigger thing, but people got tired of coming every three months to celebrate the same kid’s birthday.” I shrugged.
Athan was bent at the waist, forearms resting on his knees. He stared at the floor with a troubled brow. “How does Livia handle the aging? Is it hard for her?”
I sighed deeply. “A little. Her body matures fast, sometimes she has pain but Dr. Keller treats her.”
“A Vampire?” Athan spat.
“Yes, a vampire.” I held up my hands like claws and hissed to show him my imaginary fangs. “Would you rather she be in pain?”
“No,” he said contritely. “But did you have to call a vampire?”
 “Yes. Get over it.” I shot back. “Livia’s manifested some Fae abilities, mostly over fire. Right now they’re minor but I expect they’ll grow stronger as she does. It’s frightening for her, I’m sure. I wish Winter were still alive to help her, to answer her questions about being Fae.”
Talking about Winter brought back the ache of her loss.
 “I have a deck of cards in the house, want to play?”
I saw a glimpse of the old Athan in his eyes, the one I knew when I was a kid. We played cards until the sun came up. In the daytime, dreams don’t seem as frightening. If I woke up and the sun was shining I remembered I was safe, no longer being raped and beaten. In the dark, the demons that haunted my sleep seemed more powerful.  




Excerpt from book #2


The gym looked dingy to the untrained eye with its unpainted concrete walls and floors. Very little decoration adorned the building and the dominant color was grey. The equipment was where the money had been spent. The boxing ring was brand new, top of the line weight sets lined one side of the gym, and all the machines were cutting edge.
Nikolai was beating the life out of a punching bag when I found him. He wore a black tank top and black army type pants tucked into black boots. A sheen of perspiration glowed on his dark complexion. He’d tied a black bandana over his skull cropped hair to keep the sweat out of his eyes.
Does he own any color other than black?
He wasn’t winded at all by the vigorous activity. Without stopping his exercise, Nikolai said, “Tsura tells me you want to learn how to fight as a Wraith.”
“I can’t shift. The drugs that prevented me from doing it are gone, but my wolf is repressed or something.” I hated admitting it to him, but I was defenseless without the ability to change.
Nikolai stopped the swinging bag and nodded at me, “I appreciate your honesty. I can do more to prepare you if you’re honest. Let’s move to the mats and begin.”
Fluttering butterflies in my stomach had me on edge. Nikolai was confident in his ability to disarm and disable attackers. I was confident in my ability to get my ass kicked. We spent an hour of him showing me moves and me executing them all wrong. I was frustrating him and felt like a failure.
“Enough, Madalaina!” He shouted. “I will not allow you to quit. Find your center and calm yourself. No one can protect themselves wound tight like a coil. Remember two things, you will defeat your adversary or you will die after leaving him with a lasting injury to remember you forever. Both are victories. There is no defeat for you.”
Wow, he could make a killing as a motivational speaker.
We started anew. I couldn’t call my wolf to the surface, but I could connect with her. She provided me the Zen Nikolai wanted me to adopt, reminded me I was stronger and faster than the average person without needing to be in my Lycan form. I wasn’t alone in the fight. We were a team, she and I. My newfound confidence saw me picking up the moves Nikolai showed me with ease.
“Very good, Madalaina. You’re a fast learner once you get over the roadblocks in your mind,” he playfully tapped my forehead.
I wiped fly away hairs from my face, “I appreciate your help. It means a lot, you teaching me.”
I embarrassed him. He blushed and cleared his throat. “Yes, well, we have a ways to go before I feel good about you running loose on the streets. We should meet four times a week, does that work with your schedule?”
“I’ll make it work,” I said.
Nikolai put his hands on his hips and rolled his neck. I’d gotten him trapped in a pretty gnarly headlock right at the end of training. “Good. Much easier than Tsura. She waits and calls me at the last minute for our training sessions. If she weren't such a worthy opponent, I’d hand her off to someone else.”
My eyes bugged out in disbelief, “Tsura’s a worthy opponent? My Tsura?”
Nikolai scoffed, “You’re Tsura is a pampered princess. My Tsura, the one I see in here, she’s fierce and can take a seasoned warrior to the mat.” Pride shone in his eyes.
“That’s amazing.” Puzzled, I furrowed my brow, “I never knew that about her. I wonder what else I don’t know.”
Grimly Nikolai patted my shoulder. “Let her have her secrets. She’s allowed so few.”