Sunday, March 31, 2013

Blog Tour & Review: Crimson Flames (The Crimson Series, 2) by Ashley Robertson



Crimson FlamesTitle: Crimson Flames

Author: Ashley Robertson

Genre: New Adult Paranormal

Tour Host: Lady Amber's Tours


Book Description:
Half-vampire Abby Tate is determined to learn more about the sorceress powers that were awakened inside her when she was turned into a vampire—making her a whole new hybrid species. There’s a group of rogue vamps banding together and forming a Resistance against the vampire governing body, The Head Council, and Abby’s newly discovered powers are the key to the Council’s victory. Now the Resistance will do anything possible to remove the hybrid threat, and with no other options, Abby is forced to rely on the aid of the Council, yet can she trust the very vampires that hunt for her human lover? And even worse, can she fight the unwelcome attraction that’s growing between her and one of those ancient vampire rulers?

 Crimson Flames was completely EPIC! I loved it, every turn of the page their was something constantly going on, never a dull moment. Ashley Robertson made me cray, get angry and even laugh while reading Crimson Flames. My heart went out to Stone, I think he is my favorite character in the Crimson Series. And OMG!!! TYLER!!! I am so not giving that away but it def made me cry, that was until he pissed me off.

Abby Tate is one fierce, bad ass Vampire/Sorceress!! She is not about to let any one stand in her way when it comes to protecting those she holds dear. While fighting the rogue vampires she is also trying to protect her friends and find out where she belongs in this new world she was forced into. If that's not enough she is still learning how to use her powers and deal with new feelings towards a new love interest while sorting out how she feels about Tyler and of course Stone.

I highly recommend reading Crimson Groves and Crimson Flames, they are full of awesomeness!!


I reside in sunny Orlando, Florida and love reading and writing about everything urban fantasy and paranormal romance. When I'm not writing you'll find me spending time with family and friends, training in my home gym, traveling and exploring new places, drinking fine red wines, and making gourmet coffees with my Nespresso machine. Visit my website to learn about my upcoming releases, guest blog posts, and featured giveaways at: AshleyRobertsonBooks.com




Ashley's Links:

Chapter One Sneak Peek
1
The Deal

MY STOMACH CLENCHED as I sensed the vampire’s approach. He was close. So close I could feel the thrum of his power vibrating along my skin. The hairs on the back of my neck rose, and I knew if I was going to use my power for defense, then I needed to bring it forth now. I closed my eyes, forcing myself to breathe as deeply as I could—which thankfully had gotten easier with practice. I focused on the energy inside me, willing it to the surface, and as I felt it swelling, building like an approaching storm, I threw out my hand, gripped Stone’s shirtsleeve, and urged him to the floor. “Get down! He’s here!”
Stone raked me with a look that told me he was not too pleased, but then fear swept over his face when he realized just how little time we had.
The wooden door to the pub suddenly burst open—bits of wood and dust raining down from the force. Even though Stone should’ve cowered behind me—since his gift of reading blood wasn’t something he could fight with—somehow he’d found some bravery and boldly stood by my side. Though I appreciated it, I didn’t like it, and desperately wished he had listened to me. But I couldn’t think about that and call forth the fire within me at the same time. So I pushed Stone to the back of my mind with the silent promise of dealing with him later. Then I returned my attention to the power building inside me. One last deep breath and my heart shuddered to life inside my chest, making a rhythmic pattern with my faux breathing. A tingling warmth spread from head to toe, then settled on my awaiting hands. Seconds later, there was a glowing orb of fire (about the size of a basketball) cupped inside my palms. And just as the vampire appeared through the settling fog, I called out, “Not another step, Tristan, or it will be your last!”
“I think you should reconsider your threat,” Tristan shot back. “We are on the same side.”
That I sincerely doubted, but I knew killing a member of the Head Council would definitely put me on the “Most Wanted” list. Which I might already be on, since I’d helped the human this vampire was here to claim escape.
“She’s not bluffing!” Stone said through a snarl. I wanted to glare him into silence, but I refused to take my eyes off of the vampire standing in the broken doorway, wearing a black Armani-looking suit—now lightly covered with dust. It was a custom for all members of the Head Council to wear black suits, but each of them would wear shoes and an undershirt of their own choosing. I guess it was a way to express their individual personalities. Yet this one seemed to express himself through his spiked, platinum blond hair, not the basic black undershirt and matching boots—which were much more boring compared to what I’d seen a few of the other Council members wearing. But this vampire was far from boring. He was a tracker for the Council—one of the best hunters on earth. And he was after my human boyfriend.
“You know why I’m here, Abigail,” Tristan bit out. “The human was here.”
I felt my gaze narrow as I carefully took a step forward, the ball of flames growing hotter in my hands. “Yes, he was. It’s my fault he wasn’t captured.”
“That’s not exactly true,” said Stone as he moved up beside me.
I stole a few deep breaths, fighting the urge to throw my fireball at him instead of the blond vampire in the suit.
“Please explain!” Tristan ordered with impatience. But as Stone attempted a reply, he was cut off. “Not you! I want to hear this directly from Abigail!”
“Abby,” I corrected, feeling sweat forming above my brows and pooling between my breasts.
The blond vampire smirked, folding his arms in front of his chest.
“I did not restrain him because I do not believe he will be kept safe once in your hands,” I went on. “And until I can prove his innocence in all of this, I feel it’s best that he stay far away from you.”
A tinge of red formed a ring around Tristan’s irises as he scowled. “That is not your decision. He must pay for his involvement with those rogue vampires, including Bronx. He cannot get away with helping them try to destroy our stronghold.”
“I made an agreement with the other Council members,” I reminded him. “Doesn’t that count for something? Your word is nothing if your actions do not back up what you say.” My voice was getting louder, my patience thinning. And the angrier I got, the more difficult it became to control the fire in my hands.
“Yes. We have a deal,” Tristan assured. “We will not kill him or harm him—just as we told you—but that does not mean he won’t be punished some other way.”
“I don’t believe you,” I snapped.
Stone put his hand on my shoulder. “Abby, maybe you should—”
In a flash of movement, the vampire closed the distance between us and held Stone in a headlock from behind with his fangs hovering over my friend’s neck. And since it wasn’t to drink Stone’s blood, since Stone was also a vampire, then that meant it was a threat to rip out my friend’s jugular. From there it would be too easy to finish Stone by ripping off his head. And that’s when my patience snapped. There were only two ways to kill a vampire—burning to death or decapitation—and he was about to find out firsthand just how very dangerous I was. Sure, he could threaten to kill my friend, but he’d be burned alive before Stone’s head hit the ground. I placed all my focus on the orb of heat in my hand, willing it to retract to half its size while intensifying, growing hotter, then I thrust it at Tristan’s face. In a blur of motion, he ducked, throwing Stone to the floor as the fireball grazed over his head, singeing the soft tips of his hair. A snarl erupted from his throat as his fiery gaze locked onto mine. There was a brief hesitation, burnt hair and musk filling my senses, then something similar to curiosity flashed over his eyes and he was airborne, plunging straight for me. My body shuddered as heat blasted out of every pore, radiating from me like invisible steam. Throwing his arms over his face, the vampire faltered midair and fell sideways, then jumped back once he landed and retreated by the door from which he’d entered. Satisfied I’d made my point, I pulled all the heat back inside me, then rushed over to Stone and helped him up. “You okay?” I asked.
He nodded by way of an answer, then ran his hand through his coffee-colored hair—which was completely messed up now.
My eyes narrowing, I fixed my gaze on Tristan across the bar by the door. “Do that again and I’ll kill you,” I warned.
Tristan brushed some of the dust off of his pants. “Abigail, I’d rather not have to repeat that again. Hopefully I’ve made my point by now,” he said, his mouth curling into an amused grin that nearly reached his eyes. The hints of crimson were gone—for now anyway. “I would not have harmed your friend, as I’m sure Mr. Rayver here is already aware.” He glanced at my disheveled friend, a smirk still pulling at his lips; then his gaze slid back to me. “Your powers make you far greater than just any other Enforcer. You are an equal with us. We should work side by side, you making the sixth, and final member, of the Council. But you must not argue with our protocol. If rules are broken, there are, and will always be, consequences. There are no exceptions to this. Ever. The rules of our kind are ageless. It’s been that way for centuries and shall remain that way indefinitely.”
Well that was news to me. I knew the Head Council wanted my services, but I’d thought they just wanted me to be one of their many Enforcers. Enforcers were gifted vampires like me. Well, kind of. A few months ago I’d been kidnapped by an evil vampire named Bronx and turned against my will, which awakened the sorceress’s bloodline inside me, unbeknownst to me. But Bronx knew all about it, and he’d planned to use my powers to defeat the Head Council. Only I’d killed him before he got the chance. Later on, I’d learned about my real mother being an all-powerful sorceress and how she’d used her magic to impregnate her vampire lover—my father. So I never really was just another vampire. Or even an Enforcer. I was always more than that. A whole new species altogether, a hybrid, and a hot commodity among the vampire world—since there was no other like me. Yet if the Head Council really wanted my partnership, then I just gained a whole lot of leverage. Anxiety curled through my belly. “If you want me to work with you, and of course the others, then I will need you to be more flexible. Rules are always in place for guidance, but we both know they are not in stone. Especially when I believe innocence is a key component.”
“When there is proof of one’s innocence, then we have a trial,” Tristan explained. “But there is no proof of that with this human.”
I thought about that for a moment. Sure, I didn’t have “proof” per se, but I had Tyler’s word. And though he’d lied to me about his alliance with Bronx, and the fact he’d known about my father’s death all along, for some crazy reason I believed him now. “Allow me the time to find the proof you require and I will consider partnering with you.”
Tristan shot me a lasered glare. His face softened but I had absolutely no idea what his thoughts were. Mind reading wasn’t one of my gifts—yet. Since no one could predict what other gifts I’d inherit.
“How can you possibly believe this human didn’t help those rogue vampires?” he asked at last.
Keeping my eyes on Tristan’s, I shook my head. “He was involved. I’m not saying I can prove that differently. He’s innocent of knowing what Bronx’s intentions were, what those rogue vampires’ intentions were.” I paused a moment to suppress some of the heat inside me, though I didn’t completely extinguish it just in case things got hostile again. “He thought he was helping them,” I went on. “He thought they were in trouble. He didn’t realize he was working for the bad guys until…until it was too late.”
Stone snorted in disbelief, but kept his mouth shut. Smart vampire.
Tristan’s eyes widened. “How can you possibly believe that? He must have you brainwashed!”
“That isn’t possible,” I told him.
“What are you speaking of?”—confusion in Tristan’s voice. “Bronx would have claimed you with his mind control had you not killed him first.”
 “No, it’s not possible to brainwash me,” I explained. “And that is how I was able to kill Bronx.” Saying that struck a pang inside my chest: I didn’t want to be a murderer any more than I wanted to be a vampire, err hybrid. “I have the ability of blocking powers.”
A wave of surprise flashed over Tristan’s face. “There is so much to learn about you, Abigail,” he said.
“So do we have a deal?” I asked, taking a couple steps toward him.
Tristan raised a brow. “How much time are you asking for?”
“As long as it takes,” I replied instantly. “I have a feeling you and the others will delay me, since we are all curious to learn more about my powers.”
Tristan closed his eyes momentarily, presumably using his telepathic powers to confer with the other members of the Council. I stole a moment to look at Stone. He was shaking his head slowly, azure eyes with hints of red wide with shock. I shrugged my shoulders warily, knowing fully that to keep Tyler safe, I’d break this deal and the neck of anyone who attacked him. Obviously Stone knew that too.
“We have a deal,” Tristan finally announced.
I smiled. Relief flushed through me as the remnant heat within finally extinguished. Moments later, my breathing slowed and my heartbeat completely stopped. Oh the joys of being a vampire hybrid. “I have one more favor to ask,” I said, a whole new confidence exuding in my voice.
Stone called out, “Abby, what are you—”
“Silence, Mr. Rayver,” Tristan stated. “I am very interested in what Abigail will ask for now.”
“I want to speak to Madelaine. Will Elliott do that for me?” My real sorceress mother, Madelaine, had died long ago, and I’d never even had the chance to meet her. My father and one of his female blood donors, all the while believing she was my mother, had raised me. And though I’d love for Elliott to connect me to my father, I simply couldn’t risk giving away the fact he was dead too. Who knew how that little piece of info would affect the deal I’d just made, or the innocence I wanted to prove for Tyler. Bronx killed my father. But it was because of Tyler’s gift of premonition that Bronx was able to find my dad in the first place. So I guess you could say Tyler did carry some of the blame. But he’d sworn that he never thought Bronx would’ve killed him. And I believed him, hopefully not foolishly. So far I was taking the news of my father’s death okay. Maybe my estranged relationship with him was helping me through the mourning process. After all, he’d left me when I was ten. Fifteen years later, I’d finally gotten a phone call from him, warning me I was in danger. I never had a chance to thank him for trying to help me…or see him again.
“Abigail,” Tristan said, bringing me out of those thoughts. “You’re going to make a great addition to our team. You’re already very good at negotiations.” He chuckled lightly. “It will be our pleasure to call upon Madelaine for you and an honor to introduce you to your real mother.” Holding out his hand, he moved closer, giving me a good view of his violet eyes speckled with the deepest of cobalt, not a trace of crimson in them, which calmed me further. “So we have a deal?”
I nodded, taking his hand inside mine. “We have a deal.” Then I asked, “When do we leave?”
His answer was one simple word: “Dusk.”
I felt my chest tighten as he said it, even though I’d somewhat expected that to be his answer. Moving to where Stone was behind me, I threw my arms around his neck and buried my face against the softness of his tee, yet I could feel the ridged lines of muscle just beneath. “I know I just got back here, but I promise we’ll have more time once this is all over. I will miss you,” I told him, my voice muffled.
He gently grabbed my shoulders and pushed me back, just enough for him to look at my face. “What in the hell are you talking about? Do you actually think you can get rid of me that easy?”
“What do you mean?” I asked, feeling confused.
“I’m coming with you.”
“No, you’re not!” Tristan shouted from behind me.
I shrugged as a plan formed in my mind. “Wait a second. I think it’s a great idea for Stone to come.”
“No,” Tristan repeated.
“Actually, sir,” Stone said, “I can be of help to both Abby and the Council. I can help look for the information Abby seeks to clear her human while she is tied up with business affairs with you. It would make her that much more available.”
I felt my eyes widen. That was actually better than my plan. “But you hate Tyler.” And he did—with a passion.
“Oh I still hate him, but I think the world of you.” Stone gently gripped my chin, caressing it between his thumb and forefinger.
A lone tear I hadn’t felt before dripped from my eye as I smiled. Stone let go to wipe it and I glanced over at Tristan. “Please allow Stone to come with us. He would be a true asset. And he is my friend. Please.”
Tristan was quiet for a short moment, face hard, eyes studying us intently. “Very well.”
“Where are we going exactly?” I asked.
“Boston,” Tristan replied. “We have a few stronghold locations, but we are operating out of Boston right now. It’s good to move around. Staying in the same place for centuries can get quite boring. And it’s not as safe.”
I nodded. I’d never been to Boston before, but I’d heard it was an interesting place. A huge part of me was looking forward to seeing it, checking out all the historic monuments, buildings, and the statue of Sam Adams, if there would be any time for sightseeing. With Stone coming, we would certainly accomplish twice as much, twice as fast. I trusted that he would work diligently on finding a way to prove Tyler’s innocence. Though Stone despised Tyler, I was certain that he cared enough about me to do as he said he would. Yet Stone wouldn’t be upset in the slightest if he was unable to find the proof we needed to clear Tyler’s name.
There was also the uncertainty over what kind of situation I’d be getting myself into with the Head Council. Learning vampire politics and more about the new species I’d become when Bronx turned me…well, that could take more time from me than I could ever imagine. Plus meeting my mother for the first time and finding out more about her set my emotions swirling with anxiety.
I closed my eyes and let out a deep, long sigh. Just take one thing at a time, Abby. One thing at a time. Quit worrying about things that haven’t happened yet. Bronx was dead. Tyler was alive and pardoned for the moment. Lily, my closest human friend and old blood donor, was okay. Stone was here with me now and would stay with me at the Head Council’s stronghold. And I’d gotten pretty good control over my amazing, awesome, and insanely strong powers. I’d say my life, afterlife, whatever, was going pretty darn well at the moment. Yet, at the time, I had no idea just how quickly everything was about to change.




Saturday, March 30, 2013

Blog Tour: The Thirteenth by G. L. Twynham



Title: The Thirteenth

Author: G.L. Twynham

Series: The Thirteenth Series

Genre: YA Sci-Fi Fantasy

Publisher: Self Published

Release Date: November 9 2009

Editions/Formats Available In:  Kindle/Print/Audio Book

Blurb/Synopsis:
Imagine starting at the end and finishing back at the beginning.  This is the story of a teenage girl called Valerie Saunders who is about to be thrown through time and space. Being bestowed with abilities beyond her wildest nightmares, she discovers that she not only has to deal with turning eighteen, her first job and an unwanted tattoo, but also magical powers and intense urges to fall in love. She envisaged she would spend her life blending into the scenery, not blowing it up! Val has a calling, but which side is dialling her number? 
 What inspired you to become an author?



I was a single mother back in 2002 and on a tight budget. During a trip to Tesco, I happened to pick up a book that was on offer – Harry Potter. I went home and devoured it in one sitting. Then following my natural inquisitive disposition, I looked on the internet to find out who this J. K. Rowling was and found she was a single mother like myself and for some unaccountable reason, I believed that I too could write a book. Sometimes I cringe when I tell that story, but it’s the truth and I think of it like this.

It was like saying – I have a driving license so I can drive like Michael Schumacher!

So the truth is J K Rowling – but not because of her books – because she made me believe that a simple mum could write a book. She broke the perception I had of authors living in castles on hills and wearing tweed whilst smoking a pipe and admiring their many certificates presented for their cleverness.
 






Born in Wellingborough in 1972, Georgia was brought up with her two older brothers in a sleepy Leicestershire village until at the age of fifteen, her parents decided to move abroad, taking her with them. A new country and a new language helped her come out of her shell and for eleven years, she lived and worked on the beautiful island of Menorca.
Georgia wrote short stories and poetry from an early age but her real passion for writing didn’t truly emerge
until she was 31. Writing for her own web site and articles for magazines helped to support her and her daughter. After meeting her now fiancé, she was given the encouragement and opportunity to write full-time and the rest is history.
Georgia felt there was a need for a strong British female heroine. She also wanted a main character that had a normal family, with problems that most teenagers/young adults in this country might be experiencing and could relate to. And so Val Saunders, daughter to Mike and Susan Saunders, was born.
Georgia spends time with her daughter in their home in Leicestershire and her life is filled with promoting her books, writing and walking her dog Milly, the Jack Russell.



Purchase Links
Other Purchase Links Can Be Found Here:   http://www.thethirteenth.co.uk/buy_the_thirteenth.php



Author Links
Website:    www.thethirteenth.co.uk



Chapter 1
The Tattoo

A young woman stood alone looking up at the night sky, a cool breeze effortlessly caressing her slim frame as darkness closed around her. At long last it would be her turn to be part of something that had been her destiny since birth.
She moved on, passing the pond; she caught her reflection in the water and smiled. The time had arrived; the moon had reached the tops of the trees. On this particular evening, the shadows of the dense woods, mixed with the bruised sky made the adventure that lay ahead seem all the more exciting.
As she left the village behind and made her way into the woodland, her body filled with anticipation. She began to run.
Knowing instinctively where to go, she weaved like a needle in and out of the undergrowth, dodging the trees as if they were merely smoke trails rising in front of her.
She was moving swiftly when an unfamiliar sound suddenly stopped her dead in her tracks. A strange crackling in the air made every hair on the back of her neck stand on end. Something was very wrong. She span around, trying to find where it was coming from, but soon realized it was everywhere. Then, as suddenly as it had started, it stopped.
She had cautiously started to move forward again, when the silence was shattered once more by another wave of sound. In the confusion, her foot caught under a loose tree root, causing her to fall awkwardly into a pile of leaves. Before she had time to stand up, she heard violent screams coming from the distance. These weren’t joyful cries; the cries of pleasure and happiness she had been expecting. These turned her blood cold and left her paralyzed where she lay on the wet forest floor, her heart pounding.
After a few seconds, she gathered enough courage to slowly lift herself up and move forward again. She was suddenly very frightened, aware of the risk she was taking just by being there. She darted to an old oak tree, hiding for a moment in the shelter of its huge trunk.
Cautiously, she edged around it. Everything was quiet again so she leant the top half of her body out, to see if it was safe. In that split second a ball of light came towards her, travelling at amazing speed and growing as it came, until it seemed to be the size of a mountain.
When it hit her, its power engulfed her whole body and she was instantly lifted off the ground. She screamed helplessly as it raised her into the treetops.
Her ears filled with a piercing noise, like nothing she had ever heard before. Her whole body felt like it was burning up, yet still she kept rising and rising, until she was high above the trees.
Then the light and noise stopped as quickly and as it had started. Her upward flight came to a violent halt, and she began to fall. As she tumbled through the trees, the thick branches scratched aggressively at her clothes and face. The ground came towards her at terrifying speed. The scream that was struggling to escape her was silenced when she hit the ground with tremendous force. Her body filled with pain, the taste of warm blood filled her mouth, and she slipped into unconsciousness.


Book Blitz: Reaper's Novice by Cecilia Robert


Title: Reaper's Novice (Soul Collector #1)

Author: Cecilia Roberts       
  
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult

Blitz Host: Lady Amber's Tours

FREE MARCH 30TH & 31ST!!!


Book Description:
17- year- old Ana Maria Tei’s life has always been perfect: loving parents, good grades, and a future so bright it outshone the sun. But now words like “separation” and “divorce” are sending her world plummeting to hell. Determined to keep her family intact, Ana plans a family-bonding trip from Vienna to Tuscany. Except fate has other plans. Ana’s parents and siblings are killed in a car accident on their way to pick Ana up from school.

Enter Grim, aka Ernest. He promises to relinquish the four souls if Ana agrees to trade her soul for theirs and serve a lifetime as his novice. In order for Ana to graduate from her Reaper’s Novice station to a Soul Collector graduate, Grim puts her to test. To her horror, she finds out becoming a Reaper’s Novice didn’t happen by chance. It was preordained, and she is forced to make a choice: save her family’s souls or come to terms with who she really is and complete the task set for her.


Cecilia Robert lives in Vienna with her two children, has an incurable obsession with books, anything romantic, TV and medieval architecture. When not working in her full time job, catching up with her two children, writing or reading, she can be found, knitting or crocheting, taking photos of old buildings.

Amazon Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/Reapers-Novice-Soul-Collector-ebook/dp/B00AYPCP9K/ref=la_B005X9UR74_1_1_title_0_main?ie=UTF8&qid=1363650968&sr=1-1

 a Rafflecopter giveaway


Links:
GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5263768
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/CeciliaRobertBooks?ref=ts&fref=ts
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cecilia-Robert/e/B005X9UR74/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1363650960&sr=8-1
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CeCeMR





I pull Zig inside the Hotel Sacher Confectionery shop, famous for its traditional Sacher torte. Immediately, I’m blasted by the sight of dark chocolate cake and the scent of freshly brewed Viennese coffee, which reminds me of Sunday morning brunch at my house. My stomach grumbles mercilessly.
“Feed that beast in there before it devours us all.” Zig jabs a finger at my belly.
I laugh, and go back to ogling the cakes behind the glass display, picturing Anton smiling and gulping down the dark chocolate cake, apricot jam smeared on his lips. I dig out my savings, hand them to the lady behind the counter, and point at the smallest of the Sacher tortes. A few minutes later, Zig and I exit the shop and join the stream of pedestrians, strolling in and out of shops with bags in hand.
At the corner of Kärntner Strasse and Opernring, we stop to wait for the lights to change. A tram zips by. My gaze automatically drifts to the Vienna State Opera House. This is where magic happens.
When I was thirteen, our class visited the Opera House on an excursion. I remember walking through arched doorways and carpeted hallways, promising myself over and over that one day, this will be my dream.
Funny how life changes, twisting and turning dreams inside out, wringing them dry.
My stomach twists at the memory. I need to get out of here. Fast. I blink quickly, averting my gaze from Zig. Him seeing my face right now is the last thing I want.
“So what do you say?” he asks, oblivious to my current state. The light changes, and we join the crowd of people crossing the street. “Join me?” I give him a sidelong glance. “Do you trust me?” he asks when I don’t answer his questions.
“Would a deer trust a leopard to a cuddle?” I say, eyebrows raised.
He narrows his eyes. “Which one am I? The leopard or the deer?”
“Do you trust me?”
He doesn’t miss a beat. “Completely.”
I miss two beats. “Why? You hardly know me.”
“I just do. Come on, an hour of pure fun won’t kill you.”
I sigh. “Maybe later.” His shoulders sag. “Would you like to join me?”
His eyes light up, giving him a boyish look. “Never thought you’d ask.” He takes my hand. In the next step, we shift to the hospital.
“You’re reckless, you know that?” I say, placing a hand on the door of room 112. “Don’t you care that people notice when you disappear right before their eyes?”
“They’ll have something to talk about.”
I shake my head. “You could at least let me practise my shifting skills.”
“Next time.”
“Be good.”
“Aren’t I always?” He grins.
“Do you even know the meaning of that word?”
He winks. “You’d be surprised.”
I roll my eyes and walk inside the room


Thursday, March 28, 2013

Inhale Exhale Teaser One by Sarah M Ross



inhale, exhaleInhale Exhale, a New Adult Contemporary romance from author Sarah M. Ross, releases May 7th.   

Check out the BLURB:
Jillian had a plan: celebrate the end of her first year of college with an amazing summer full of beaches, barbeques, and bonfires. When her mom insists she needs a summer job, and her boyfriend spends more time with his band than with her, Jillian’s plans go down the drain. 

Grant had a plan: finish his Masters, get a great job at Google, and get the hell out of Georgia. He might be giving up some of the fun of his youth, but he knows his all work and no play method would be worth it when his dreams came true.

But things never go according to plan. 

When temptation brings them together and tragedy tears them apart, Jillian and Grant will be forced to choose: fight for their dreams, or fight for each other.

Wanna read more?
 Here’s an excerpt: 

“Are you sure you’re not breaking it just so I can come back out here? Cause if you want to see me, you don’t have to break expensive equipment to get my attention,” Grant asked earlier that day.
It was the third time I’d had to call IT, and the third time I’d gotten to see the mischievous smile on his face as he walked toward me.
“No, I promise you. I really am this dumb.” I winked playfully, allowing myself to flirt for a minute. It was harmless, right? I’d never actually act on it.
“I’m pretty sure the fact you can say that sentence in several other languages suggests otherwise.”
Sono davvero questo stupido,” I repeated in Italian.
Grant ran a knuckle down my arm, leaving a trail of goose bumps along the path. “Beautiful,” he said in a whispered breath. My own breathing hitched at his words. “See? Like I said, not a dumb bone in you.”
The all-too-familiar blush crept back onto my face. “You don’t know me that well.”
“I’d like to change that. What are you doing tonight? A bunch of us from work are going to this beach party. I’d love it if you could come.”
For a moment, I pictured myself there. Laughing and having fun around a bonfire and splashing in the ocean. Grant in his board shorts that would hang low, revealing that deep V I was sure was there. But then I snapped out of it, remembering how inappropriate my thoughts were. “I have a boyfriend. I can’t.”
“It’s not a date, Jillian. Just a group of friends hanging out.” He packed up his supplies, but paused before leaving. He stared deeply into my eyes, making my palms sweat. Leaning in close, he whispered in my ear. “If I were asking you out, it wouldn’t be with a group of people. It would be only us—alone—so I wouldn’t have anything from distracting me from admiring every nook and cranny on your beautiful face, Cupcake.”
I swallowed down the lump that formed in my throat. My mouth had gone dry; I was unable to form a thought, let alone words.
“Here.” He reached out and gently took my hand. “I’ll do this old school since you don’t like technology.”
My mouth opened, but I couldn’t respond. I stared at him as he took out a pen. He picked up my tiny hand, which shook slightly, and held it in his own. The contact was slight, but powerful. I was frozen in place as he wrote on my palm. The only movement came from my heart that pounded in my chest. Before he let go, he gently blew on the ink to help it dry, causing me to emit the faintest of moans.
“In case you change your mind,” he whispered, then winked and walked away.


Be sure to add this to your Goodreads page:
To find out more about Sarah and her books, stalk her here:

Rock N Roll Promises Read-A-Long with AmBear Shellea

Rock 'n' Roll Promises (Rock 'n' Roll Paraphantasy, # 1) 

 1. Anna is at the hospital, how would you feel if you were in her shoes?
Scared out of my mine.

2. Would you be able to change your friend not knowing they could awaken and hunt you for what you have done?
If it meant keeping my best friend happy, then yes, most definitely. 

3. Sebastian makes his reappearance, what do you think of him?
 I really despise him, not a fave for me LOL.

4. Put yourself in Sebastian's shoes, how would you react to the situation he walks in on?

5. If you could spend the day as a supernatural/mythical creature what would it be and why?
 I would be a Fairy, they are such gorgeous and powerful creatures.

6. When you think of Ozzie, what is the first word that comes to mind?
Sorry I have to say it, but Ozzy Osborne LMAO

7. What did you think of the cars in this book? Are you a classic car fan?
 I thought that was AWESOME!! Love classic cars!!

8. Were you worried I had killed off a fan fave?Most Def!! And then the way we were just left hanging!! OMG!!!

9. Say you had to choose the death of one of the characters in Rock n Roll Promises, who you kill off and why?
Sebastian because he was such an ass, and it would give Jaxson a way in even if it was just comforting Anna til she was over Sebastian.

10. Rock n Roll is the theme for this series, do you think the music added or took away from the story?
Loved the music part I felt like I could really connect knowing and being familiar with most of the songs that were mentioned in Rock N Roll Promises.

Now My Questions for Author AmBear Shellea:

1. I love the different Mythical & Paranormal creatures in Rock N Roll Promises, but did you ever think that you could have made a completely different story from the Werewolves side of things??

2. Will you ever consider making a short story of Jaxson's POV??

3. What inspired you to write Rock N Roll Promises with a music theme??

4. Is any of your characters based off of someone you know??

5. If you could be any of your characters who would you choose and why??

Buy links
Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Rock-Roll-Promises-Paraphantasy-ebook/dp/B00B0MKZQQ/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1363035258&sr=8-3&keywords=rock+n++roll+promises

Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Rock-Roll-Promises-Paraphantasy-Volume/dp/1481218077/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363035300&sr=8-1&keywords=rock+n++roll+promises

Autographed Paperbacks: http://rocknrollparaphantasy.blogspot.com/p/autographed-paperbacks.html

My Hangouts

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/AmBearShellea?ref=hl
Bookbuzzer Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/AmBearShellea?ref=hl#!/AmBearShellea/app_163325500392236
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6470124.AmBear_Shellea
BookBlogs: http://bookblogs.ning.com/profile/AmBearShellea
Freado: http://www.freado.com/users/33989/ambear-shellea
Twitter: @ AmBear Shellea
Linkedin: AmBear Shellea

Giveaway Rafflecopter~ Ozzie T-Shirt
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YTIyMWYwNzM1OTRmYmU1ZjQ5YTBjZjk5MjI5ZTNlOjEz/

Excerpt:

Two hours until sunset…She stood with her back against the wall and stared at her newly remodeled house. All that time and energy now wasted. Her kitchen now darkening and somber, seemed to match her mood. With the help of her friends, the cute Café table sat nestled along the far side of the kitchen, out of the way, and the chairs carefully stacked against the wall. Her eyes turned and lingered on the living room. All of her pretty wood and plush furniture which once sat neatly sprawled around the room, now crammed into every corner.Where Maroon and Cream used to beautifully mesh together and flow through the room, today looked as splotches on canvas corners.



The glowing dark rays of the sunset splashed the room through curtain-less windows.Inhaling once, she took one last look, returned to the present and her awaiting task.I am sure glad that I have money, because I am sure all of my stuff is going to be destroyed. If we all make it…it will be worth it.
She strode over to her stereo and clicked the play button. Metallica’s Seek and Destroy wailed through the speakers. Heading to her room, she let the music fuel her adrenaline. Time to prepare for battle!


Through the bedroom door, she marched to her closet and flung open the double doors. Her Black leather outfit felt smooth in her shaky hand. She crossed the room, dropped the garment on her bed and pulled off her clothes.She yanked the one-piece outfit over her limbs and slowly pulled the zipper closed in the front.It fit as tightly as skin. The leather squeaked a bit as she moved her arms and legs, testing for mobility. She dropped onto the softness that was her bed and pulled on her tall black boots, she had sitting under her nightstand. Dressed and ready she walked to the bathroom, and put her hair in a loose ponytail.
Let the ass kickin' begin!

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Review: If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

If You Find Me Synopsis:
There are some things you can’t leave behind… A broken-down camper hidden deep in a national forest is the only home fifteen-year-old Carey can remember. The trees keep guard over her threadbare existence, with the one bright spot being Carey’s younger sister, Jenessa, who depends on Carey for her very survival. All they have is each other, as their mentally ill mother comes and goes with greater frequency. Until that one fateful day their mother disappears for good, and two strangers arrive. Suddenly, the girls are taken from the woods and thrust into a bright and perplexing new world of high school, clothes and boys.

Now, Carey must face the truth of why her mother abducted her ten years ago, while haunted by a past that won’t let her go… a dark past that hides many a secret, including the reason Jenessa hasn’t spoken a word in over a year. Carey knows she must keep her sister close, and her secrets even closer, or risk watching her new life come crashing down.




Wow. If you find me is intense, emotional and heartbreaking.
My heart went out to Cary and Jenessa. Even more for Cary than her younger sister as she endured what no child should ever have to worry about. It kills me to know that what happened in this story is something that happens to children in everyday. Emily Murdoch did an amazing job with If you find me.

Cary has grown up living one life only to find out there was so much more to experience. After her mother has been gone for over two months, left to take care of her 6 year old sister all on her own, a man and woman show up to take her away from the only home she has ever known. Thing is she recognizes the man and she hadn't seen him since the day her mother took her and ran. Cary is unsure of this new life, this life with food, clothing and school. She is so afraid of this change and this life. She's not sure if it's all worth the risk.






Emily Murdoch Emily is a writer, a poet, and a lover of books. There's never a time she's without a book. Her debut novel, If You Find Me, will be available from St. Martin's on March 26, 2013 and from Orion/Indigo UK on May 2, 2013.

When she's not reading or writing, you'll find her caring for her horses, dogs and family on a ranch in rural Arizona, where the desert's tranquil beauty and rich wildlife often enter into her poetry and writing.

Emily's other passion is saving equines from slaughter. She uses her writing to raise awareness of this inhumane practice, with the goal of ending the slaughter of America's equines through transport to slaughterhouses in Canada and Mexico. She offers sanctuary to abused and slaughter-bound equines who dazzle her every day with their forgiving nature and gratitude in exchange for security, consistency, food and 

love.

US ONLY

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Links:
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5445024.Emily_Murdoch
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Emily-Murdoch/e/B00BOABE14/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1364238064&sr=8-2
Twitter: https://twitter.com/leftywritey
Blog/Web:




Monday, March 25, 2013

Blog Tour: Party Crasher by April Angel

Party CrasherShe crashed his party and became his prize…

According to one annoying Drex Callum, Chris is a “nosy reporter.” And maybe she is. She’s heard of the super secretive event known as the Seduction Party, and she won’t be content until she finds a way in. The last thing she expects to find is that Drex is the host. She’ll never get an invitation from her nemesis—unless she finds a way to get one herself. And breaking into his house is nothing if it means getting the scoop. But what she gets instead is an eye-full of the man himself, half-naked and more than she’d ever dreamed he could be in all her teenage fantasies.
Drex has been fantasizing about Chris forever, and now that she’s a grown woman, he still has a hard time treating her like one. So when she shows up at the Seduction Party—on the auction chair!—he’s got no other choice but to teach that nosey woman a lesson. He never dreamed sex could be like this, with Chris in his room, tied to a bed, asking him for stuff that blows his mind…




 I have only read a few erotic books and one thing that set Party Crasher from the rest was that their was a story line with it, I actually got to learn something about the characters. I wish I would have been able to read more about Cole and his mystery woman though.

April Angel is an excellent writer, she keeps her readers captivated from the beginning.

Chris is determine to get into Drex's party and get her story, no matter the cost. However, once there she gets a whole lot more than she came for but she's not complaining.

Drex is holding is annual party and has some uninvited guests, one in particular has caught his eye and he's about to show her what the Seduction Party is all about.

Want to know about me? April Angel (aka Milly Taiden) was born in the prettiest part of the Caribbean known as the Dominican Republic. She grew up between New York, Florida and Massachusetts. Currently, she resides in New York City with her husband, bossy young son and their little dog Speedy.
She’s addicted to shopping for shoes, chocolate (but who isn’t?) and Dunkin Donuts coffee. 
 A bookworm when she can get her hands on a good story, she loves reading all Mina Carter and Dianne Duvall among others




Website:  http://www.millytaiden.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/millytaidenauthor
 

Book List:

As April Angel

Party Crasher
Wicked Valentine – Sizzling Encounters – Book 2
Stranded Temptation
Mr. Buff – Sizzling Encounters – Book 1

Coming Soon
Lucky Break – Sizzling Encounters – Book 3
A Hero’s Pride

As Milly Taiden

Caged Heat
Wynter’s Captive
Halloween Heat III – Mate Event
Fate’s Wish
Sharp Change

Fever
Wolf Protector